Northern Lapwing – 3rd NC record!

I went to see this bird, a species I never dreamed of seeing, let alone seeing one in the state of North Carolina. The first such record was a dead bird found in Chatham County in 1926. A second record occurred in more recent times but was around for only an hour before disappearing, plus it was on a remote island off the coast. But today’s bird, was in Person County, just an hour or so away from the Research Triangle Park.

I got up at 4:40am, left home an hour later, and arrived there by 7am. Another birder showed up about 20 minutes later, then a third birder, along with some locals wondering what all the fuss was about. I was beginning to wonder if this was wasted trip, but then I spotted the bird way out in left field (literally) and yelled, I got it! They couldn’t get to my scope fast enough 🙂

Here are my poor digiscoped shots (only 1 is not cropped). Note the broad, black breast band (compare to 2 breast bands on the Killdeers); the olive-green back (compare to brown back of Killdeers); massive size (about twice that of Killdeer).

IMG_0004 IMG_0005 IMG_0013 IMG_0014 IMG_0020 IMG_0021 IMG_0026 IMG_0027

About birdingatbond

I love birding! And I live near Fred G. Bond Metro Park in Cary, NC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

