What a Year!

2012 was my third full year of birding and I sure did enjoy it. I’m still a novice who thinks he knows more than he actually does, but the enthusiasm is real, although a bit more seasoned now.

In 2012, I submitted 256 eBird checklists, 239 of those in the state of North Carolina (the twentieth highest number in the state). I tallied 219 bird species with 201 NC species. Needless to say, I don’t get out of my hometown very much, but I do get out 🙂

All in all, it was a good year filled with lots of bird adventures with some mighty fine company.

I ended the year with a flurry of Christmas Bird Counts, two local events and two coastal ones.

I began the New Year with a productive trip to the Wilmington area where I got 3 life birds: Selaphorus hummingbird, Long-tailed Duck, and Razorbill. I didn’t take any photos but one of my cohorts on the trip, Michael Fulbright, snapped some real beauties. You can check them out here:

http://www.mikefulbright.com/birdblog/2013/01/06/wilmington-area-birding/

Happy New Year & happy birding, too!

-eddie-

About birdingatbond

I love birding! And I live near Fred G. Bond Metro Park in Cary, NC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

