Lake Betz

The Fall season is with us and the birds of Fall have returned. A few migrants to wintering grounds further south and east are still passing through. Hurricane Sandy brews off ours coast as it practices its aim at New England, and the air is gray and windy. The Orange-Crowned Warbler is a life bird for me. I first ID’d this bird as a Tennessee Warbler but on closer inspection of my photos, the tail is just too long and the undertail coverts are yellow, not white, which is an important distinction, I’ve learned. I was surprised, too, to find a Blue-gray Gnatcatcher, not having seen one in quite a while. The Blue-headed Vireo was a sight to behold, so low to the ground, and so exposed. Swamp Sparrows still amaze me, their skulking prowess through the cattails a thrill to watch. A Song Sparrow in a leafy-green, red-berry bush reminds me of Christmas to come. A Northern Mockingbird shows me who’s boss.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About birdingatbond

I love birding! And I live near Fred G. Bond Metro Park in Cary, NC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

