Up and Down and Up and Down

There are two owl chicks in this cavity, but only one chick is visible. That chick is on top of the other. As I was observing the owls this morning, the visible owl chick rose up higher in the cavity and then descended back down again. This happened over and over as the bottom owl chick pushed up against the top owl chick. I had to chuckle to myself as I watched this totem pole of owl chicks going up and down and up and down. It can’t be too much longer before these owls branch.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Both mom and dad were active this morning, each arriving on nearby perches with prey which they ate themselves. The chicks, I’m guessing, were fed last night.

About birdingatbond

I love birding! And I live near Fred G. Bond Metro Park in Cary, NC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Up and Down and Up and Down

  1. Sam says:

    Went to Bond Park yesterday (Monday) to see the owls. Got there at a bad time of day to photograph but did enjoy watching them. One of the patrons there told me there was aother photographer there just prior to my arrival but I don’t know if it was you or not. I will be returning soon as those chicks look like they will fledge soon. Thanks for your blog. My pics may be seen here http://www.flickr.com/photos/pictkr

    • Yes, I was there before you, and Michael Fulbright was there after me, so it was you who first saw them beginning to branch. Awesome! And thanks for leaving the comment. Without it, I wouldn’t have known to check yesterday afternoon. You have very nice photos and video, obviously some really nice optics. Are you a birder? Are you on the Carolina Bird List? You should share these photos there. Quite nice! -eddie-

      • Sam says:

        Thanks Eddie. I’m not so much a birder but a nature and wildlife photographer. I hope to go back before they fledge and try to get some better pics and another video. Looking for the right time of day to do so. Let me know when you think is the best time and/or when you might be going back.

Leave a Reply

