My Day in the Park

I birded Bond Park today, both this morning and briefly late this afternoon. The highlights for this morning were the owl chicks at bridge #6. The light was better so I came away with better shots. Caroline showed up too, so after photographing the owls, we birded all the way around the lake. There were at least 2 Black-and-White Warblers, although we never saw them. Same is true of the Prairie Warbler I heard near peninsula point and the Northern Parula along the west side of the lake. But I saw and heard the Common Yellowthroat at the beaver pond, and it doesn’t matter to me how common they are; they’re stunning in their black masks and yellow feathers. Also at the beaver pond, a gorgeous Swamp Sparrow in breeding colors jumped into our view. A White-breasted Vireo sang his “quick-with-the-beer-check, quick” song as he darted in and out of the leafy boughs of a willow oak. The Greater Yellowlegs at the mudflats near bridge #4 was calling kew-kew-kew when I showed up this evening. Is it the same bird that we saw yesterday? He’s sporting some might fine breeding colors, isn’t he? That was my day in the park.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About birdingatbond

I love birding! And I live near Fred G. Bond Metro Park in Cary, NC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

