It’s egg-laying time for Barred Owls

I ventured into Bond Park after work today. The owl at bridge #7 had already left his roost, but I soon located him nearby as he took flight toward the creek. He was on a midstory perch, and his flight path took him into or beyond the creek. I followed and chanced upon a hollow in a hardwood tree about 20 up. Why had I never seen it before? It is visible from the path (at this leafless time of year).

I saw no pellets at the base of the tree, so I proceeded to return to the path. Scratching sounds emanated from the opening and, as I watched, the female clambered up and out of her cavernous den. At the opening, she took flight to a nearby perch. She must be incubating!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Someone in Leesville has an owl cam and reports that their owls also have laid eggs. You can learn more about that here: http://www.ustream.tv/channel/leesville-owls

Assuming that the Bond Park owls laid eggs on Ash Wednesday of this week, hatching can  be expected perhaps around March 22, and the first appearance of fledging owlets should occur between April 18 and April 25, roughly. My first of 3 Spring bird walks at Bond Park will occur then, and with any luck, we just might see some fuzzy, little owls that day.

 

About birdingatbond

I love birding! And I live near Fred G. Bond Metro Park in Cary, NC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

