Crabtree Creek Water Shed

Jan Mouro emailed me about a Ross’s Goose she saw at Carpenter Lake. On Google maps, the area is shown as Crabtree Creek Water Shed, and it is in a development just off of Morrisville-Carpenter Rd in Morrisville, NC. I’d been there before, but now it was time to go again. And I’m glad I did, the goose was there along with about 100 Canada Geese and a few other birds. I stopped there on my way home from work.

As I walked across the dam where the goose was hanging out, I noticed the wide open vistas and grassy areas and thought, “What a great place for raptors.” And then there it was, on the ridge of one of the multi-unit complexes in the development, a Cooper’s Hawk, perched and watching with intensity at all that moved, including me.

The hawk was named after William Cooper, a founder of the New York Lyceum of Natural History (now, the New York Academy of Sciences). The goose takes it’s moniker from Bernard Ross, an early explorer of the Hudson Bay area. Wouldn’t it be cool to have a bird carry your name long after you had died? Maybe. 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About birdingatbond

I love birding! And I live near Fred G. Bond Metro Park in Cary, NC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

