Wake County Birding

The morning clouds glowed pink as I donned my gear to meet up with Mike Tove over at Yates Mill County Park. I’ve been there maybe 5 times now, but I’ve never been in the Spring. The place must come alive then, and I can’t wait to see what surprises pass through as migration gets under way this year.

Today, we got nice views of a Hermit Thrush over on the boardwalk. We listened as this wintering thrush called, but I long to hear it sing. In the Spring, before it flies to its breeding territory, you can sometimes hear these birds whisper their song, as if they’re quietly practicing before appearing on stage. Once on their breeding territory, they don’t hold back on the volume of this unearthly song but belt it out for all it’s worth. Whether you hear this song from far away or close by, the music jolts you. This has to be one of my favorite songsters.

Over at nearby Mid Pine Road, I saw some Savannah Sparrows. I never can get quite close enough to these sparrows to see the yellow that sometimes shows in their brows. But with iPhoto on my iMac, I can zoom into them and the yellow pops out. When I spotted this morning’s Savannahs, they were sitting atop a tangle of brush. Eventually, something spooked them (me?), and they darted to the cover of the field grass. I’ve read that they are good runners, once on the ground.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About birdingatbond

I love birding! And I live near Fred G. Bond Metro Park in Cary, NC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

