Another pellet

I saw again the two owls in the pine at bridge #7 this morning, and I found a new pellet (this is pellet #5). The pellets I have found never had a chance to dry, so they’re not really pellets but moist, little clumps of owl vomit. I used gloves, tweezers, and a toothpick to sort through the contents of this pellet:

Contents of owl pellet

There is another rodent here — check out the impressive teeth in the rodent’s jaws and skull. I have read that urban owls in Charlotte eat more birds than rural owls do (rural owls eat more rodents than birds). But based on what I’ve found so far, these owls seem to be eating mostly rodents. I have found no feathers, no bird skulls. The owls also eat crayfish and snails.

I know for certain that there are 3 different owls in the park: the pair on the southwest side and a loner on the east side. But now there is evidence that the loner on the east side is paired, too. Yesterday, Keith saw a pair owls quite near to each other on the east side. I located this owl today. It perches in a skinny pine backed up to an apartment complex near the trashcan and bench on the Lake Trail (east side). That pine has a large clump of leaves – I’m guessing an old squirrel’s nest. The owl perches next to the nest.

All the books say that Barred Owls prefer cavities and rarely  use old nest sites. But I haven’t found suitable cavity sites yet within Bond Park. We’ll have to wait and see if the roost sites at bridge #7 (which has an old hawk’s nest) and the east side location (old squirrel’s nest) have been chosen to rear new generations of owls.

About birdingatbond

I love birding! And I live near Fred G. Bond Metro Park in Cary, NC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

