Kitt Creek–Birding where my ancestors once lived

It’s not a big patch, but I’m appreciative for the variety of birds I find here
when I stop by on the way to work. Before they built the dam here, and long
before there was a Research Triangle Park with buildings (one of which I work
in), my very own ancestors lived on Kitt Creek (according to deed books and tax
lists from the early 1800’s). What birds might they have encountered? What names
did they have for them? It’s wild to imagine that I am birdwatching on land
where my own ancestors lived nearly 200 years ago. I rather doubt that they
appreciated birds the way we do now.

Most of the lake was iced over today. The ducks, geese, mergansers, gadwalls,
and lone bufflehead were corralled in a small opening next to the dam and along
the gravel road. The pileated sounded off but I never saw it. And a pair of
hawks on distant perches escaped ID before I could get closer. A couple of rusty
blackbirds gave me close looks. A flock of field sparrows flew in just as I was
leaving. It was very cold.

Eddie Owens
Cary NC

Location:    Kitt Creek lake and wetlands
Observation date:    1/14/11
Number of species:    28

Canada Goose    30
Gadwall    4
Bufflehead    1
Hooded Merganser    6
Double-crested Cormorant    2
Great Blue Heron    3
Killdeer    1
Red-bellied Woodpecker    2
Downy Woodpecker    1
Northern Flicker    3
Pileated Woodpecker    1
Blue Jay    2
Tufted Titmouse    2
White-breasted Nuthatch    2
Brown-headed Nuthatch    1
Carolina Wren    2
Eastern Bluebird    5
Northern Mockingbird    1
Yellow-rumped Warbler    2
Field Sparrow    9
Song Sparrow    7
Swamp Sparrow    1
White-throated Sparrow    2
Dark-eyed Junco    1
Northern Cardinal    1
Red-winged Blackbird    53
Rusty Blackbird    2
American Goldfinch    2

About birdingatbond

I love birding! And I live near Fred G. Bond Metro Park in Cary, NC.
This entry was posted in Kitt Creek Lake and Wetlands and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

