Hoot owl, crows, and creepers

Went birding quite early this morning (6:30am) and birded for 3 hours. From peninsula point, I heard a gang of crows across the lake, and through the din, emerged the hoots the GH owl, another first for me. I never saw it, but it persisted calling. I assumed the 30+ crows were amassed in his honor. I recorded the raucous chorus on my digital recorder.
Just minutes later, I heard the call of a creeper, another Bond Park first for me. 30 minutes later, more creepers on the west side of the lake. The last brown creepers I saw were in Yosemite in June.
I love the way the fog lifts off the lake’s surface these cold mornings. The hooded merganser I saw last week was no where to be seen.
About birdingatbond

I love birding! And I live near Fred G. Bond Metro Park in Cary, NC.
This entry was posted in Bond Park and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

