Introduction

I’ve always liked birds, but I never realized how much I loved them until my birding hobby became an obsession beginning last Spring. I had been on one birding trip with a good friend of mine who has an amazing ear for birds (more about him later). And I already loved walking (ask me about my hike to Texas sometime). So I just combined the two loves, birds and walking, into one rewarding hobby, birding. My boys think I’m a bird nerd, but I’m very happy to claim that title.  🙂

I live near Fred G. Bond Metro Park in Cary, NC, and so I usually do my birding there. In just a few minutes, I can walk to the sometimes swampy but mostly dry bog at the south end of the lake near the Oxxford Hunt swimming pool. I’ve been amazed at the birds I’ve found in that spot alone. From yellow-billed cuckoos to red-shouldered hawks, white-eyed vireos to brown-headed nuthatches, common yellowthroats to black-and-white warblers, these feathered creatures fill me with surprise and wonder. I consider birding to be as much an act of worship as I do an endeavor of serious science.  And I do both, usually at the same time.

I’m not an expert birder by any means. In fact, I’ve made lots of novice mistakes as a birder. But I’ve discovered you don’t have to perfectly ID a bird in order to enjoy its beauty and its place in the natural order of things. There is a balance to all things in the complex and diverse web of life on this planet. Similarly, there is a balanced approach to birding that involves both serious study and playful imagination about the Creator who left fingerprints are all over creation.

But whether you attribute the existence of birds to a Designer or not is really immaterial to me. If you love watching birds, then we can certainly bird together. I hope you’ll join me as we learn about the birds of Bond Lake and other birds, too.

Because I also bird at other locations, I will occasionally comment about these excursions, too. But since Bond Park is my primary birding location, this web log focuses on the birds I encounter here.

-eddie owens-

About birdingatbond

I love birding! And I live near Fred G. Bond Metro Park in Cary, NC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Introduction

  1. betty says:

    Hi eddie, from a fellow birder and former colleague..
    A few yrs ago when i lived in durham I spent a year watching birds everyday. I was surprised how often hawks could be seen right in my own neighborhood.
    betty

  2. Hi Betty,

    I just returned from birding at Bond and saw a Cooper’s hawk and some pretty neat warblers such as common yellowthroats and (still to be confirmed) a magnolia warbler and chestnut-sided warbler (fall warblers are so much harder to pin down!). Glad that we share the love of birds.

Leave a Reply

